At the Law Office of Kevin MacKay we represent our clients in serious legal matters in the Hudson Valley court system; from Ulster County to Dutchess county we truly are the local law firm you are searching for. When you sit at your computer and begin your search for a local attorney near you; it is important to pay attention to where your potential lawyer’s office is actually located. There are many lawyers from miles or states away. This can create serious issues for your case when courts are back in session and your lawyer may have to travel many miles or even hours to represent you in multiple hearings. At the Law Office of Kevin MacKay we bring over 25 years of experience working in the local Dutchess County and Ulster County court systems. We bring a level of knowledge and experience that an out of town lawyer simply will not offer; local laws very from larger cities and this can also pose a problem for your case. In conclusion as you begin your search please keep in mind that Experience Matters and local experience really matters. This can be an invaluable addition to the outcome of your Dutchess County divorce, child custody or matrimonial.
A first-offense DWI, sometimes called a DUI (driving under the influence), where the driver has a BAC of .08% or more (up to.18%) carries an administrative license suspension of at least six months (one year for drivers with a BAC of .18% or more or for drivers under 21 years old).
A DWI is considered a second-offense if you had a prior offense within the past ten years. DWAI’s involving drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol also have a ten-year second-offense look-back period. However, the second-offense look-back period for DWAI’s involving only alcohol is five years.
It’s important to note that New York has multiple look-back periods. Depending on your situation, the look-back period could be four, five, ten, or 25 years. Consult with a New York DWAI attorney to find out which look-back period applies in your case.
According to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, 33% of all fatalities are due to drunk drivers Because of this, the penalties for an alcohol or drug-related violation include the loss of driving privileges, fines, and a possible jail term.
New York has established severe penalties for DUI. The reason for the severity is not only to punish people who have been arrested for driving drunk, but to set an example to those who haven’t yet. That way, if they are ever in a position where they are considering drunk driving, they will think better of it. And the penalties become even more severe for second- and third-time offenders:
New York first-offense DWI Laws
- $500 – $1,000 fine
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Minimum 6-month license suspension
New York second-offense DWI Laws(within 10 years)
- $500 – $1,000 fine
- Up to 4 years in jail
- Minimum 1-year license suspension
At Kevin M. MacKay we have handled thousands of DWI cases of the course of our careers and more importantly have brought hundreds of these cases to either trial or hearing. When looking for the right attorney experience matters come in and meet with one of our attorneys for a free consultation on your matter today.
This article is made for better understanding DUI and DWI in the New York State. If you are facing those charges you can better understand them before contacting Lawyers For DWI or DUI.
A DWI refers to when a driver is intoxicated; that is, when his or her blood alcohol content level (BAC) is at the legal limit (0.08 percent) or higher. A DUI generally refers to a driver who is “buzzed” (has a BAC lower than 0.08 percent), intoxicated, or under the influence of drugs.
Alcohol reduces reaction time, reduces your ability to see clearly, changes your judgment of speed and distances, often makes you less inhibited and makes you more prone to take chances. Drugs, which include many prescription and over-the-counter medications, can affect your ability to drive. They can have effects similar to alcohol or even worse. If you take medication, even a remedy for colds or allergies that is not prescribed, check the label for warnings about its effects. If you are unsure, ask your doctor or pharmacist about driving while on the medication.
Driving while intoxicated is a crime. Your judgment, coordination and ability to drive a vehicle change when you consume any amount of alcohol. The level of impairment depends on five conditions
- the amount of alcohol you drink
- the amount of food you eat before or while you drink alcohol
- the length of time you drink alcohol
- your body weight
- your gender
There is no quick method to become sober. The best method is to wait until your body absorbs the alcohol. The average rate that your body processes alcohol is approximately one drink per hour.
Contact Lawyers at the Law Office of Kevin M. MacKay online or call 845-432-5599. Our firm also represents students at Vassar College, The Culinary Institute of America, and Marist students who are facing DWI charges.